A conviction for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) can have a significant impact on your reputation and your future. Whether you're facing a first DUI or you're a repeat offender, the penalties in Pennsylvania can be severe. Not only does a conviction result in a permanent criminal record, a license suspension, and a hefty fine, but it could rob you of your freedom. DUI is a serious crime that requires serious legal representation. If you've been charged with a DUI in Western PA, you need to speak with an experienced Pittsburgh DUI Attorney who is willing to vigorously defend your rights and will fight to ensure that you receive the best possible outcome. Call or text (412) 589-9422 to speak to a Pittsburgh DUI Lawyer at Bishop Law immediately.

Just because you've been charged with a DUI does not mean you have to be convicted. At Bishop Law, our number one goal is to have your DUI charges dismissed.  

For most first time offenders, we will negotiate for placement in the Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition (ARD) program. ARD is a pre-trial diversionary program provided by the Pennsylvania Rules of Criminal Procedure. Successful completion of the ARD program results in a dismissal of your charges and an expungement of your criminal record. ARD is the preferred option for almost all first-time DUI offenders. However, if you have a Commercial Driver's License (CDL), your CDL will be suspended for a year even if you enter the ARD program. For those with a CDL, fighting your charges may be the only option. At Bishop Law, we welcome the fight.

 
9.4Adam Michael Bishop
The National Trial Lawyers

How We Provide a Strong Defense

In order to put up the best DUI defense, we must speak to you as soon as possible to get your side of the story, begin our own investigation, and plan how best to attack your case. For instance, if the police lacked reasonable suspicion or probable cause when they stopped you, your skilled DUI Lawyer from Bishop Law will file a pre-trial Motion to Suppress Evidence alleging that your constitutional rights were violated when you were pulled over. If that Motion is granted, all the unlawfully obtained evidence will be deemed inadmissible and the charges against you will be withdrawn. Your experienced DUI Attorney from Bishop Law may also challenge the results of any field sobriety tests or the accuracy of your breathalyzer results. Rest assured, your aggressive DUI Lawyer from Bishop Law will make every appropriate legal argument and provide the strongest possible defense.

Our only goal: to get your DUI charges dismissed.  

DUI Penalties in Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania employs a three-tiered system based on the driver's Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) to penalize those convicted of DUI. The sentence imposed is dependent upon two factors: the driver's BAC and their number of prior DUI convictions over the last 10 years. Those who refuse a chemical test or are found to be under the influence of a controlled substance will face the highest BAC penalties.

Tier 1: General Impairment - BAC 0.08% to 0.099%

1st offense:

  • No license suspension.
  • 6 months of probation.
  • $300 fine.
  • Mandatory alcohol highway safety school.
  • Drug and alcohol treatment.

2nd offense:

  • One year license suspension..
  • 5 days to 6 months in jail.
  • Fine ranging $300 to $2,500.
  • Mandatory alcohol highway safety school.
  • Drug and alcohol treatment.
  • Ignition Interlock system for 1 year.

3rd offense:

  • One year license suspension.
  • 10 days to 2 years in prison.
  • Fine ranging $500 to $5,000.
  • Drug and alcohol treatment.
  • Ignition Interlock system for 1 year.

Tier 2: High - BAC 0.10% to 0.159%

1st offense:

  • One year license suspension.
  • 48 hours to 6 months in jail.
  • Fine ranging $500 to $5,000.
  • Mandatory alcohol highway safety school.
  • Drug and alcohol treatment.

2nd offense:

  • One year license suspension.
  • 30 days to 6 months in jail.
  • Fine ranging $750 to $5,000.
  • Mandatory alcohol highway safety school.
  • Drug and alcohol treatment.
  • Ignition Interlock system for 1 year.

3rd offense:

  • 18 month license suspension.
  • 90 days to 5 years in prison.
  • Fine ranging $1,500 to $10,000.
  • Drug and alcohol treatment.
  • Ignition Interlock system for 1 year.

Tier 3: Highest - BAC 0.16% and over OR Controlled Substance OR Refused Chemical Testing

1st offense:

  • One year license suspension.
  • 72 hours to 6 months in jail.
  • Fine ranging $1,000 to $5,000.
  • Mandatory alcohol highway safety school.
  • Drug and alcohol treatment.

2nd offense:

  • 18 month license suspension.
  • 90 days to 5 years in prison.
  • Fine ranging $1,500 to $10,000.
  • Mandatory alcohol highway safety school.
  • Drug and alcohol treatment.
  • Ignition Interlock system for 1 year.

3rd offense (and subsequent offenses):

  • 18 month license suspension.
  • 1 to 5 years in prison.
  • Fine ranging $2,500 to $10,000.
  • Drug and alcohol treatment.
  • Ignition Interlock system for 1 year.